New to GMRS Radio Suggestions

wrongturn74

Question

Im new to the GMRS radio world. I have been active on CB for 30 years I have had $50 radios and $400 radios. I have been researching GMRS radios and I guess as always with the internet you get more information then you need or want. I picked up a cheap BTech radio to get my feet wet. I have had no issues with transmitting or receiving and have hit two local repeaters. Looking for a good handheld that would be repeater capable and programmable by the end user. Thanks in advance.

13 answers to this question

Well, first are you interested in only new radios or would taking a chance on buying a used one? The answer to that would narrow down the recommendations a bit.

There are a few new models while there is a forest of used commercial grade radios available. Some of those are Part 95 certified so are legal to use. Some people only want FCC part 95 certified equipment. Others are OK with the Part 90, the typical certification for commercial radios. There are by the way some commercial radios certified for both Part 90 and 95.

So far the FCC seems to ignore people using Part 90 only certified radios, but one should not assume that will continue to be the case.

I recently picked up a Wouxun KG-805G and it’s works pretty well. It receives much better than any Baofeng I’ve tried, especially with a Nagoya 771G antenna.

I’ve also used several Midland micro mobiles and they’re solid but the only one that can be programmed is the MXT-400 and there’s only 7 channel slots available for programming.

I just received a Retevis RT76P yesterday but so far programming has been a much greater learning curve than other radios I’ve used. Hoping to do some testing tomorrow.

Hope that gives you some help in your search. Best of luck!

Great...  As for the RT76P is that the repeater or walkie talkies?  If repeater would like to hear more of your experiences.  

Jack