ANSWER.... What are the proper steps to putting a GMRS repeater on the air?

WRKC935

Question

Go pop some popcorn and kick back.... This WILL be a long read.

So you have you license.  Now you want to put up a repeater.  Great,,,, maybe,, usually.  But have you thought it through or do you just really want to hear your call sign coming across the airways if CW?  This is going to explain how to do it right to NOT cause interference with other repeater owners and be mindful of the limited resource (8 repeater pairs) we have been designated by the FCC.  This will cover planning, equipment, antenna's and everything in between.  Please ask questions about the topics as they are posted, and if you see something missing you would like covered, message me and I will do my level best to cover that topic.  I have been a commercial two-way radio tech for 13 years a ham for almost 30 and have been working on electronics and radios for 40 years. 

First thing is to listen.