Increase range

WRMT271

Question

5 answers to this question

15 minutes ago, WRMT271 said:

I am moving about 100 miles away from home and the cell signal sucks there but id like to keep in contact with family by radio. Is there a way to increase the range of a radio to do that?

Reliable radio communication at 100 miles is tricky, as it tends to fall right in between short range (UHF/VHF) and long range (HF) capability. I'm not an expert on this by any means, but I thought I'd share my thoughts to add them to the discussion. Hopefully others with greater knowledge than mine will chime in also.

Generally, I'd recommend using a radio that works on HF (High Frequency, or 3 to 30 MHz). This option is best realized when two licensed operators with General class (or higher) privileges are communicating with each other, and requires both to be licensed, unless you use the CB (~27 MHz) band. CB isn't likely to be reliable over that kind of distance, though, so ham licenses (and somewhat expensive radios) would be preferable to allow use of lower frequencies. Antenna configuration also plays a significant role here, because different configurations result in different propagation patterns at varying distances.

Another option, if you have a high point approximately mid span, would be to install a repeater for GMRS or ham use, then using appropriate radios, communicating through the repeater. A repeater high on a mountain or tall tower might be able to work in this case, but that's only if conditions are optimal. This may or may not be an option in your instance, as it would likely be very dependent upon topography, and would require appropriate permission to install a repeater at the site.