New to GMRS

AK

Do you know anyone in your area you can test it with? If not, do you have a repeater nearby that you can listen into and then test transmission? We have multiple GMRS radios and testing wasn't an issue with the radios for us. Testing repeater config is a different step, our nearest IP linked repeater (to form a large area) is about an hour's drive away. But we are rural Colorado. 

What part of the country do you live in? Often, there may be a repeater, or repeater systems, near you and setting up wouldn't be that hard. In Colorado, I just had to reach out to a gentleman that managed repeaters to get the current information. On the other side of the state, I needed to join a group (just an online setup, no $, to help control access to their repeaters) to get the information. 

7 hours ago, AK said:

Hello I am new to GMRS 

I received my license, and purchased the btech gmrs-v1.

How do I test this unit ?

Thanks for you help.

AK,

Welcome to the forum and to GMRS. What do you want to test on your radio?

From the other replies on the thread, it looks like you don't have anyone to talk to that is near you.

Do you know anyone near you that has any FRS "bubble pack" radios (the ones from Walmart, Big-5, etc.)?

If so, you should be able to talk to them using simplex (radio to radio) communication. This would allow you to test the functionality of your radio.

If you're looking to test repeater operation, you'll first need to figure out what repeater you will use, and unless it's an open repeater, you'll need to get the owner's permission to use it.

Anyhow, we can give better advice once we understand what you want to test on your radio.

Once again, welcome to the forum.