Channel 22 emitting morse code on PC 0 every 15 minutes

TheDeacon

Question

I'm a newbie to GMRS in South Texas.   I have a BAOFENG UV-5X, and have noticed that channel 22 in my area is emitting Morse code every 15 minutes on privacy code '0'.  I decoded it to "WBE744", and when I looked this call sign up on FCC website it shows ownership by "CAPSTAR TX LLC" with it canceled in 2020.  Looking at the details this shows as having been owned by IHeart Radio in Tulsa OK, with radio service type: AS - Aural Studio Transmitter Link.  I have several questions related to this:

Assuming I decoded the Morse code correctly, would callsigns be re-issued across different radio service types?  Assuming I decoded it incorrectly, are GMRS call signs ever 6 characters long (e.g. my callsign is 7).

Finally, assuming this is a valid repeater, are they supposed to identify on privacy code '0' every 15 minutes even when not normally transmitting? This gets annoying when monitoring the channel over long time periods.

If anyone knows what this is, and can eliminate my guess work I would appreciate it!

6 answers to this question

I am guessing you missread the DTMF. I say this as the call you listed is for 948.00MHZ. 

Being your on a not so good radio it could be interfearance/intermod or some other off frequency channel. If your receiving on frequency I'd verify the call again.

As for code 0. Thats Carrier Squelch. Most repeaters ID with no PL so they dont bother users who use PL. 

Not sure where in Texas you are but many repeaters on the 725 frequency.

https://mygmrs.com/browse?name=&location=&state=TX&frequency=725&output_tone=&input_tone=&type=&ori=&travel=&sort=State&step=25