Just getting started

Guest Tyke

Hi all, please forgive me I’m just starting out with this GMRS, I applied to the FCC for a license. I purchased (2) Midland MXT 400 radios one for the house and other for my vehicle. Can you tell me what is the best antenna to use for the base station I’m thinking about a tower or pole or roof mounted. I want to get it up high. Also if this works out I’d like to install a repeater for all to use, I don’t know much about all of this but willing to learn. I remember cb’s years ago, we recently bought some side by sides and I installed cbs in them and our vehicles it was really fun talking between our friends on the ride up and on the trails. 

Thanks Tyke

In the 65centimeter GMRS band, height means more than anything else for your antenna as long as your coax length is less than 50 ft, then coax quality begins to inch in, but height is still the prime consideration.  

If your area isn't generally flat, even a well elevated antenna will not propagate well in the obscured directions; a repeater does not overcome this unless it is located at a centrally located high ground location.   The advantage of a repeater is to generally double the range of 2 mobile radios.  If the repeater antenna can be located on a tower over 150ft high and the tower itself is on a locally high elevation the range between the repeater and regular stations can be 20 miles under perfect conditions. At 50 ft elevation the range of a repeater is more likely to be less than 10 miles, probably 5, sometimes even less with buildings and trees around. 

Good brands of antenna are Diamond, Comet, Browning, Tram, Ed Fong.  There are many to choose from among these brands.