Trucks, garage doors, and antennas

Bugkiller

No, not the title of a bad you tube video.  Noob here, still contemplating how far down the GMRS rabbit hole I want to go.  Next logical step, (to me, as I have HT radios currently) is a mobile unit.  If I do it, well I will go all in and get a 50w unit.  

Now for the tricky part.  I have 7+ inches of clearance between my roof and garage door.  Not much room for an antenna.  Yet, isn’t that the best place to install your mobile antenna, the roof?    But does the low clearance limit the quality of antenna?  If so, is it better to go with another mounting surface to be able to put up a better antenna?

Just wanting to hear from you folks with experience.  I would think this isn’t a unique to me problem.  

It's hard to say without some sense of what distances you're working with, and what the terrain is like. The standard 1/4 wave for 450-470 is 6",  and with a drilled through should give you the clearance you need.  I'll have to look at how much height the mag mount adds (I want to say 1/2").Alternately, how much height can you get away with from the fender top? (Subtract am inch for mount height, to account for bracket or lip mount) 

Pattern wise, the 1/4 wave will generally be more omnidirectional,where a taller gain antenna  is more of a squashed donut (more gain, more squish).

A 5/8 there would be no problem on the fender or bed rail at around 12", but I think the double 5/8 browning I have might be close again at around 36", though it's sprung so a little rub might be okay, vs if it hit close to the base on a roof mount. The comet 2x4sr is even taller, but it also folds...is folding it to park feasible?