Help with VXR-7000 Repeater setup

briancs

Hello, I was recently given a working vxr-7000 repeater and need to reconfigure it. I have access to programing and have added the repeater Freq, I am new to this and not sure really what I should be looking for to ensure it all properly configure. If someone has some experience with this repeater and can offer some help with what fields need to be set or even provide a working config file for me to compare to that would be great. 

I have everything in place and connected just want to ensure the config is properly done.

Thanks for any help sent my way

Brian

N4wzy

7 hours ago, briancs said:

Hello, I was recently given a working vxr-7000 repeater and need to reconfigure it. I have access to programing and have added the repeater Freq, I am new to this and not sure really what I should be looking for to ensure it all properly configure. If someone has some experience with this repeater and can offer some help with what fields need to be set or even provide a working config file for me to compare to that would be great. 

I have everything in place and connected just want to ensure the config is properly done.

Thanks for any help sent my way

Brian

N4wzy

Do you have a programming cable and the necessary software for programming the repeater? Assuming you have a suitable computer and the aforementioned software and cable, the programming of the repeater is pretty simple. The CE-27 software is needed, but I used the -d switch for the executable to allow it to enter "dealer" mode. In my case, the executable file is CE27Win.exe, so I ran it as "CE27Win.exe -d" to access the dealer mode. I believe this was required to allow me to set the repeater to wide band. It's probably obvious that since the executable file is an exe extension, it is intended to run on Windows. I actually use mine in Linux with WINE set up for Windows compatibility.