Superheterodyne vs wattage

WRPH745

I am new to GMRS and looking to get my next radio. I started with a pair of UV-5Gs to see if I like the hobby. I can connect fine to our local repeater. I can receive fine in or out of the house. I have to be outside to transmit 

I want to upgrade my system

I am looking to get an Ed Fong antenna and a better radio.

I am looking to spend about $200 for the radio. 

I keep hearing that transceiver with Superheterodyne receiver is the way to go. At my price point there are radios that are 5 watts with a Superheterodyne receiver or I can get a nice radio with higher wattage but a without a Superheterodyne receiver. 

Any suggestions on which way to go?

Thanks in advance

I would assume an EdFong antenna means some sort of base radio.

Superheterodyne can be poorly designed too, just be aware of that.

My recommendation for radio goes for the Vertex Standard VX-4207, which will not intermod, nor desense, and its part 95. @wayovertherehas experience using that radio. 

For antenna I would go with this: https://www.ebay.com/itm/133810193897?epid=1941709490&hash=item1f27b585e9:g:Y5EAAOSwLCdgUyaI, which you can later upgrade to a 2-bay or 4-bay configuration for increased gain.

G.

Welcome to the forum!  But watch out for "some people" that will try to grossly over-complicate things when answering even the most simple of questions in sad attempts to show you how smart they think they are.

Superhet receivers are generally "better" than cheap SOC type radios - but most people would not notice any difference.. I would worry more about features/what the radio can do more than the receiver type, but thats just me.

On wattage, unless you are looking at a huge difference like 25W vs 5W, you aren't going to see much difference in range - for example, the only thing you would notice on an 8W radio vs a 5W radio, is that the battery will go dead faster on the 8W.