Surecom SW-102VU

tdukes

Just an FYI, your mileage may vary!

I bought this meter due having issues with a Latnex meter not correctly calculating SWR. Seems the Surecom is no different.

Apparently, the newer models have this issue. Older models do not. Contacted Surecom about this and they are playing dumb when I presented evidence to back this up.

I'm not a radio expert by any means but I feel I'm pretty confident I can read a cutting chart by a antenna manufacturer and can measure twice and cut once. I don't think I can get the SWR to 1:1 on two antennas. If so, I need to buy some lottery tickets.

I think its an issue with the advertised frequency range. I checked it on a ham frequency of 146.52 and got a 1.72 SWR. Some of that could be the antenna isn't tuned for that frequency but it shows it can report something other than 1.0.

This antenna was checked with a NanoVNA that was calibrated just prior to the test. Notice the difference in SWR.

IMG_1106.JPG

IMG_1105 (1).JPG

Do you have transmitters with higher output power... like 50W, to test that meter.

The sensitivity for the reflected power side may be similar the forward power side, and just incapable of reading the minuscule power being reflected by a 5W HT. MFJ-847 ( https://mfjenterprises.com/products/mfj-847 or https://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-014171 ) at least seem to handle HT power levels (though on the BTech GMRS-V2 [early version, highly under the 5W/0.5W spec] it can't measure reflected on the low power setting -- same for Wouxun KG935 -- though it also doesn't seem to like that unit... at high power its shows nearly 100% reflected! Looks like it's time to order a new antenna [the Nagoya 771G from the BTech on this shows reasonable values])

20220920_214337.thumb.jpg.5861a7b8f5ef712459989fe2dd02db8c.jpg

BTech low power

20220920_214202.thumb.jpg.ed4e51fd735d9ea4cf9c49fb3f2acbeb.jpg

BTech high power

20220920_215231.thumb.jpg.d4123f2e5bc00708621624b3f47122a4.jpg