MXT275 or MXT575

Duck218

I'm pretty new to GMRS but I'm liking the flexibility and performance for emergency and remote communication.  Right now I only have small handhelds but on my vehicle have added an NMO antenna mount for better reception.  

I'm trying to decide if it's worth going to a MXT575 or if a MXT275 would be good enough.  The lower power and narrow band only are holding me back on the MXT275.

Anyone have experience with either they'd like to share?

Thanks

Newer MXT275 units with the USB-C port now come with wide band for the repeater channels, although some leftovers are still coming with narrow band.  If a USB-C 275 has narrow band, you can mail it in and have them convert it to wide band.  I did so and it works fine.  If it's an older 275 without the USB-C port then it'll be narrow band only.

(And I wish companies would change model numbers when they change major features.)

The 50-watt 575 may be of some use if you have to push the transmission through a lot of trees or buildings, but you still cannot receive any better than the 275 with the same antenna.  My 15-watt 275 hits a repeater 30 miles away through suburbia using a 6" quarter wave on the hood.  The 575 may have a few more features such as wide/narrow selection.

A 15-watt radio with a good antenna is much better than a 50-watt radio with a lousy antenna.

By the way, the MXT-275 comes with a small antenna with 20 feet of thin coax.  The antenna is fine, and I use it because it works on my vehicle's hood without getting in the way much, but the coax is a problem.  Either get a better antenna, or shorten the coax with a new connector to the length you require, or shorten it to a foot or so then use better coax the rest of the way.  Having said that, once the coax is addressed, the little 6" antenna works fine.  But it's much easier to spend a little on a better antenna and coax to begin with.