"Travel" channels....why all the arguing??

WRXH357

I'm fairly new to the whole GMRS thing.  Been on the radio (so to speak) for a few months now.  I've been able to connect over repeaters and some simplex connections.

I have yet to really hear anyone using the "Travel" channels.  To which I see/read PLENTY of people arguing about the "Travel" channels.  Why all the hate/discontent about what channel/frequency/tone to use??  Am I missing something?

I have programmed a channel with the (what I believe is) the "old school" travel channel settings.  Do I need to add more channels setup up for "travel"??

(sigh)

20 minutes ago, WRXH357 said:

I'm fairly new to the whole GMRS thing.  Been on the radio (so to speak) for a few months now.  I've been able to connect over repeaters and some simplex connections.

I have yet to really hear anyone using the "Travel" channels.  To which I see/read PLENTY of people arguing about the "Travel" channels.  Why all the hate/discontent about what channel/frequency/tone to use??  Am I missing something?

I have programmed a channel with the (what I believe is) the "old school" travel channel settings.  Do I need to add more channels setup up for "travel"??

(sigh)

I'm taking a wild guess, you're asking if there's a national calling or hailing channel, right? I don't want to steer you wrong or get into discussion that I myself get stuck on times. Yet I'm licensed Amateur Radio Operator as well as a GMRS licensee. Being a VE I feel weird not understanding the FCC radio service rules and regulations on bot 95 and 97. But keep asking !

2 hours ago, WRXH357 said:

(sigh)

Decades ago, the FCC designated a frequency* (pair 462/467 repeater) as an Emergency/Traveller Assistance frequency, and it was commonly recommended that (as I recall) a CTCSS tone of 141.3 be used with it.