Antenna question sending vs receiving

WRYS366

Question

Hi there,

I'm new to the hobby and experimenting with a small mobile antenna in my vehicle.

I'm using

• 2x Baofeng UV-5R GMRS radios
  • 1 with the stock antenna
  • 1 connected to this antenna.

I have some landmarks I'm using for range and trying to plot an area that I can transmit and receive in just to get an idea of what the radios can do.

The terrain is a mix of

• farmland
  • forest
  • orchards
  • small hills

I've added the vehicle antenna after just using the stock antennas thinking that the radio with the larger antenna should be able to transmit further, and the 2nd radio should be able to hear it, but not respond.

This isn't what's happening though.  Adding the larger antenna to one radio doesn't seem to have affected anything.

I was planning on buying a 2nd antenna but I'm taking things one step at a time and experimenting.

Do I need to have larger antennas on both radios before I notice a change?

Thanks for the responses!      ☕

6 answers to this question

Adding a larger, correctly tuned and well-placed external antenna will almost always certainly perform better than the stock antenna, but depending on your terrain, and 3million other variables, you may or may not notice. With good line of sight, you might get 20 miles of farz on the radios using the stock antennas, but if you have a mountain at 21 miles, then no big antenna is going to get you 22 miles of farz.

Dont overthink it.. If you are getting the farz that you need with the stock rubber ducky antennas, then use them. If you need more farz, then connect to a correctly tuned and well-placed external antenna.

Queue the overly complicated, 10 paragraph responses that don't really address or answer the question:

I think you have covered the 10 paragraphs already

Foe the op..
How far are you trying to go? If the terrain has a lot of obstacles, try getting to the highest points you can.