New to GMRS

Guest Bohang

Guest Bohang

Hi everyone! I am new to GMRS. I have a lots of questions that I want to ask you guys. I hope I can get some help.

​1) I just bought a Baofeng UV-5R. Can I operate this radio by holding a GMRS license?(I saw a video on YouTube says that the UV-5R is a ham radio, it required a ham radio license to operate. T or F)

2) If I just want to chat with my friend on simplex, what frequency that I can use and do I have to speak English only or I can speak other language. Also do I have to say my call sigh every time I call ? Can I set a PL tone on simplex that only me and my friend can transmit?

​3) I knew if I want to get a longer range I need a repeater to help me out, but can I use a repeater with a GMRS license? if I can, when I make the call do I just talk to the repeater or some random people in the repeater range? Is the repeater re-transmit automatically?  

​4) If I am using a repeater to contact my friend, do I have to speak English only (I know call sign must be English)? when we chat by using the repeater, is anybody else can hear us?

​5) If some one is using the repeater can I still use it?

These are the questions so far that I can think about. I really really  new to GMRS, I did a lot of research online but still not get the idea. I really need someone to help me out and guide me going on the right path. I will really appreciate it for all help? Thanks!

Thanks for all your replies

Seven

WQXK764

Hi Seven,

Welcome! Let's see if I can answer those questions for you. Others may chime in and lend their expertise as well.