Repeater Output

PugetSounder

Question

I’ve been monitoring the OlyCom3 (Tiger Mt E) repeater with my RTL-SDR. I have 2 SDRs V-3 and V4. Both are reading the same.

The repeater output looks to be 1MHz off center as shown in the 1st pic. Moving the freq up to 626 (pic 2) shows the signal at center of the modulation. You can clearly see it by the station ID in CW (pic 3).

As an experiment, I tuned my SDR to a strong commercial FM station. My reasoning is these stations broadcast in Wide FM as well. So for instance 97.7 KIRO FM booms in the Puget Sound area The signal is center frequency. At 97.6 I still read the station OK but fidelity suffers. Same with 97.8.

I'm still learning so I thought I would ask more experienced people here.

Has the Repeater drifted off frequency or is this normal due to the positive offset setting? I'm unsure.

OffFreq.thumb.JPG.882ac13d00ec9b699571afa1475af003.JPG

On Freq.JPG

Station ID.JPG

21 answers to this question

That's not 1 MHz off.  It's 1 kHz off.  1 MHz off would be 463.625 or 465.625.

Yes, the repeater appears to be off frequency just a bit, but probably not enough that anyone would ever notice.

FM broadcast radio stations are 75 kHz (I'm pretty sure), not 25 kHz like a "wideband" GMRS channel.

Sounds like you have not calibrated the SDR receiver/dongle from within SDR# software. Click on the gear icon within the software and adjust the frequency correction (ppm) to a known source. I use a HT set to a known frequency (in this case 462.625) on low power, no antenna and narrow FM to keep from overloading the front end of the SDR and keep the FM width as narrow as possible to adjust the ppm. Not lab perfect but close enough.

tt.jpg

Thanks for the correction. And the info.

For the record, I can hear the difference on my PC w/a discone, but obviously not on my cheap HT with a small speaker and whip.