New to radio

Guest Dan

Guest Dan

Hello everyone!  Very new to radio. Just purchased a Baofeng UV-5R GMRS, I also got my license yesterday. Any tips on getting my radio setup? Also, I’m seeing all this stuff about nets and meshes. I understand GMRS isn’t ham where everyone just hangs out talks to each other, but are those set times I see on the website here, times that everyone meets up on these radios? Thanks! And sorry again, I’m still Learning. 

1 hour ago, nokones said:

Is that radio Part 95 type-certified? It is my understanding that all UV-5Rs are not legal for GMRS freq use.

That wasn't the question. The questions were:

"Any tips on getting my radio setup? Also, I’m seeing all this stuff about nets and meshes. I understand GMRS isn’t ham where everyone just hangs out talks to each other, but are those set times I see on the website here, times that everyone meets up on these radios?"

Just now, Guest Dan said:

Hello everyone!  Very new to radio. Just purchased a Baofeng UV-5R GMRS, I also got my license yesterday. Any tips on getting my radio setup? Also, I’m seeing all this stuff about nets and meshes. I understand GMRS isn’t ham where everyone just hangs out talks to each other, but are those set times I see on the website here, times that everyone meets up on these radios? Thanks! And sorry again, I’m still Learning. 

Use repeater section of the site to locate repeaters near you. Keep in mind you will likely find more repeaters that you can hear than you will be able to make contact with. Also check and see if there are any clubs in your area. Most importantly just have a good time and try not to let the knuckleheads ruin it for you. 

9 hours ago, Guest Dan said: