New Guy

robie

Hello everyone,

Name is David.  I just recently got my GMRS license.  Hoping to learn from you guys, as I am completely new to GMRS radio.  Got it for the intended purpose of communications while out wheeling, and also for when my family travels.  Sometimes depending on what we're doing we use more than one vehicle to move around, and although I have a CB, there's a lot of random stuff that my kids don't need to hear, and also from what I read, GMRS seems to be a better performing option over CB.  Again, I hope to learn as much as I can from you guys.  Take care.

Welcome!  There is a lot of great information here, and some very talented operators that are here that are field techs and engineers for their career.

Hello everyone,

Name is David.  I just recently got my GMRS license.  Hoping to learn from you guys, as I am completely new to GMRS radio.  Got it for the intended purpose of communications while out wheeling, and also for when my family travels.  Sometimes depending on what we're doing we use more than one vehicle to move around, and although I have a CB, there's a lot of random stuff that my kids don't need to hear, and also from what I read, GMRS seems to be a better performing option over CB.  Again, I hope to learn as much as I can from you guys.  Take care.

If I may... if you want to talk about the pros and cons of each service as it relates to offroading in this thread, I would be happy to give you some input.  I'm sure others will too.

I go wheeling out in the mountains of WV, VA and PA pretty regularly, and have some pretty capable setups.

I understand about the conversations heard on the CB.  I was on it today and its not kid friendly if you are anywhere near a major highway.  LOL

Hi David. Welcome to this forum.

I understand your distaste for CB radio.

Unfortunately CB frequencies are better than ANY UHF frequencies. Especially for family comuications.