Crazy question -- the future

STTScott

I'm a GMRS noob just getting back into amateur radio from SSB heydays, which means I'm a technical boob. So here's a theoretical question: Would it ever be possible for Bluetooth-like connections between radio and antenna, replacing coax cable? What would be the downsides?

I thought if this because I'm a renter and there's no possible way in my building to run coax to any sort of external antenna oarge or small. Compounding the problem is my windows all have diamond-mesh screenings since this is hurricane country, so my only option seems to be to sit outside on my patio or in my car.

Perhaps there's a technical whiz among us who can weigh on whether this could ever be possible.

well, there is something called RF coupling, you often see this with through glass antennas, however no, there is no way that I have seen or heard of, to use bluetooth to connect a transmitter to an antenna.

There are ways to get around the problem though. One way would be to ask the landlord if you could run coax from the attic into a room through the wall. you would drill down into the header into a stud bay, install a single gang box with a cover. This would allow you to remove the coax when you move and replace the plate with a blank (if you do it right you can pass it off as a location you had a TV set up as well.) While not perfect, you can run an antenna inside of the attic and get reasonable results.

Another option would be to mount an antenna on an exterior wall (inside of the room) and work low power as to not flood the house with RF. This is least ideal however is better than nothing.

Lastly, if you are looking to use a repeater, the repeater owner may have RoIP set-up. You would need to contact the repeater owner for details on how to connect to the RoIP network as it usually requires a username/password.