general info

Guest Bob

Hi

New to this and would like more information. I live in Rhode Island. There are a few GMRS repeaters here but some are inactive. What kind of radios do you guys use? Can you buy them at regular department stores or do you order them on line? Thanks....Bob

Well I'm a newbie too and really don't know the true full answer to that but:

for the repeater usage I think you'll need more than 5 watts of power that a Handheld might put out.  

I don't know of any stores per say that sell the mobile units with 15 or more watts so I purchased mine online from Midway.

Welcome to GMRS Bob.

You will find lots of good information here in the forum. Enjoy.

I encourage to you stay legal with whatever radio choice you make. Look for radios that are FCC Type 95e certified if you are purchasing a new radio. And follow the rules when using it.

I personally use the Wouxun KG-805G handheld. I use one in my vehicle with an external antenna and I also carry one. I have owned them for about six months and would purchase them again. It is a great easy to use starter radio and is more flexible than others on the market. I will step up when and if a new and better product emerges on the market that is 95e certified.

BTW, I just completed a 45 minute chat session with 5 other folks just before seeing your message. I was using my handheld with a Nagoya 771G antenna. I was 26 miles from a local high-profile repeater.

Currently there are a limited radio choices on the market that comply with the new regulations. Consequently, some folks operate illegally. Some folks choose to purchase used but much higher quality and better performing commercial LMR radios.

Midland sells mobile radios for vehicles that can do simplex and repeater communications. They do not however offer a repeater-capable handheld for some reason.