Need Tech help in choosing a radio. Newbie!

Guest David

Hello

I'm new to the GMRS community and new to owning a GMRS.  I actually haven't purchased equipment yet because I'm over whelmed with the choices.  This is what I want.  Handheld radios for my family to use. They will be used locally in town to communicate with when other sources are not working or available (national emergency or weather related emergency). I want something easy to use and has power to get out further than typical box store walkie talkies.  I am looking at the Baofeng manufacturer.  Thank you in advance for any help or suggestions you can provide.

David H.

dharri2@cox.net

If you want a radio you can depend on in an emergency I would not recommend any of the cheap Chinese radios. The really cheap ones have no real resistance to drops, rain, dust etc. I dropped a cheap BTECH tri-band radio on a cement floor. The speaker died. Yeah it’s ok for a glove box radio or cheap scanner on the desk but it won’t hold up to hard use.

I have a collection of Kenwood, commercial grade, hand held radios I purchased used. Some had busted cases from being dropped, dirt packed into the speaker grill from being used extensively outdoors etc. when I got them. The radios still worked after cleaning them up and replacing the busted case parts. They were designed and tested for that kind of usage. You get what you pay for.

Hello David and Welcome to GMRS.

I own, use, and would buy again, the Wouxun KG-805G. It is a good starter radio. I use it with an after-market antenna and the higher capacity battery back and other accessories. I use it with an external antenna in the car. It will cost you more than twice the price of the more costly bubble pack radios (e.g. Midland GXT1000) while remaining affordable enough to allow for one for each family member (IMO) if needed.