New to Radioddity DB25-G GMRS Mobile Radio 25W

Lifegood

Question

22 answers to this question

33 minutes ago, Lifegood said:

Hello all, I'm very new to the GMRS mobile radios and I just purchase a DB25-G radio.

I would like to installed it on my vehicle without drilling holes, and to use it as a base.

Can you recommend a good antenna and what I would need to attach it to my vehicle.

Well, without knowing what type of vehicle you're wanting to add a radio to, and without drilling holes, your best bet is most likely a magnet mount antenna. Unless your vehicle uses non-metallic or aluminum body panels, a magnet mount should work on it. There are tons of choices out there, but it seems that there is a trend toward antennas using an NMO mount. There are magnetic bases with NMO mounts, to which you add an NMO antenna tuned for the UHF 460-470 MHz band, and they would serve you very well for GMRS.

A second option for an antenna that does not require drilling into your vehicle is a roof rack or mirror mount antenna, which basically clamps to a metal bar of some sort on the exterior of the vehicle. Of course this option requires that you have something suitable to clamp to, but it could prevent you from needing to drill into the vehicle.

3 hours ago, Lifegood said:

Hello all, I'm very new to the GMRS mobile radios

Hello and welcome, Lifegood. I'm new here and to GMRS, as well, so I though I'd chime in. Everyone I've met and shared with has been very helpful, so I'd say you're in the right spot. As I said I'm new so my knowledge, all things GMRS, is limited. I currently have a mag mount sitting on my hood, ran the wire around the inside of the engine compartment to stretch it out and into the firewall. I'm not sure I needed to stretch it out like that, but back when I installed my cb, I was instructed to not coil my cable, figured it was the same concept. 

2 hours ago, Lifegood said: