KG-905G Disappointing Short Distance Test

fillmoreranger

Question

Hi…

I am new to GMRS. I recently purchased two Wouxun KG-905G HT radios (buytwowayradios.com), replacing the stock antennas with the Nagoya NA-771G. I reside in a suburban subdivision. For my initial test (running 5w on Ch 5), I took one radio to a 3rd floor unit in a building 0.9 miles away, per Google Maps (a bit shorter as the crow flies). I expected a clear signal at that distance, but was not the case. My TX’s were not received by the 3rd floor unit. Their TX’s were hit or miss. Some came through (with static), others did not.

The only impediment I can really think of is a line of those massive overhead electrical power lines that cut across the two locations. 

Would that be enough to knock out a signal between these relatively short distance locations? Any suggestions to improve communications?

Obviously, a disappointment starting out.

Thanks in advance.

15 answers to this question

Don't forget about the effect from the apartment's building materials. If you have cement walls there is likely rebar in it, wood and brick may have foil backed isolation in the walls, metal tint on the windows, high lead content glass, metal blinds etc. Some newer construction has sheet metal wall studs in place of the old wood ones as another item. There is a pile of construction material that can screw with a UHF signal. 

The building where I work has two of the above, poured concrete walls with a loose metal mesh and the office walls have metal studs. Needless to say the reception is rather poor for weak signals for anything other than a signal a mile or so away, and trying to TX is worse.

I'd give it a shot again with at least one transceiver out-of-doors. You should be getting some reasonable range.