GMRS Antenna question.

WRVD377

Question

Since I have little to no knowledge of what is best for a repeater. I initially used what I could find that was "gmrs tuned". Optek UH-2401.

Now after many forums search's I find that maybe a Dipole might be better.

If a person tried to look for the best universal direction output, best gain, and working on antenna altitude, but may not be able to fix that much.

Are my assumptions from my reading even close to reasonable?

If I had the money,

ASP705K might be the best answer.

DB420-B May be next best.

DB408-B Then this.

DB404-B Then this.

Compared to the radiated energy of a Optek UH-2401 like antennas.

Am I missing ground plane / grounding complications?  Other things I am too stupid to know?  Keep in mind altitude is not an option more that 20'9" change to 33'2" mast. Hills North and South.

My assumption is DB404-B in elliptical layout should be better than Optek UH-2401 like antennas.  Is this reasonable  understanding?

Thank you,

Royce

25 answers to this question

2 minutes ago, WRTZ750 said:

Can someone direct me to where I can learn about what it means to have an antenna with "gain"?  In the context of a repeater antenna, does a higher gain omnidirectional antenna have a larger "dead spot" area near the tower then?  How does one calculate what this dead spot size/area is?  Or does it really apply when doing shorter tower hights of 100 feet or less?

Theoretically radio waves would be radiated from a single point at exactly the same strength in all directions, forming a perfect sphere. That’s unity gain, or no real gain.
However, in real life that sphere may take on other shapes, with more strength in a specific direction, or flattened at the top or bottom. But there’s just as much RF energy being emitted, so just like a water balloon, if you flatten it, the circumference becomes larger. That’s said to be gain in that direction.