Midland MXT575 not Transmitting

WRUI421

Question

TL;DR Midland MXT575 not Transmitting on GMRS Channels. Need help fixing this issue.

I am brand new to GMRS radios. And for my vehicle I purchased the Midland MXT575, installed it with the supplied items. Power line directly to battery and ground. Use the magnetic mount with the MXTA26. I have gone over the manual, only made changes to turning rB(rogger beep) off and change the background color to orangeish. Everything else is set to default. Also obtained my GMRS license. I made my first transmission and thought no one heard me because I assumed I was stepping over other transmissions. Turns out my radio is receiving transmissions just fine. On Channels 1-7 I can transmit without issue. But on GMRS channels (15-22) the TX, Signal Strength, and Red light indicators come on but no one hears me. What did I do wrong in this setup? I have looked at the forms here but no luck. If I am missing any needed information please let me know.
I have a feeling I have wasted money into this setup.

10 answers to this question

Check to see if you have your radio set to narrow band or wide band. Most Midland radios come from the factory set on narrow ban. You want to change all channels to wide band. I don't know if that is your exact problem but using wide band will help.

I have the MXT500 and a friend has the MXT575. I changed the settings on my radio to wide band but my friend did not. I could hardly hear him on any channel until he changed his radio to wide band. We were about 17 miles apart at the time.