Are there minimum requirements for a repeater to be added?

WRZM759

Interested; in the same situation.  Our neighborhood is 1,500 acres, generally rectangular with the longest distance ~3 miles.  ASL ranges from 30' to 70' with thick vegetation.  I've tested 5W HTs and they make a scratchy connection when one is at a high spot; with both low it doesn't happen at all.

If I hosted a simple antenna on the roof (or, in the attic, keeping it out of the wind?) I'm guessing most everyone would have coverage.  I'm new to this and that's a guess.  Am I missing something fundamental?

Can one rent a repeater set-up to test the concept?

Did I mention that I'm new at this? :)

Testing 'repeater' coverage can be done with nothing more than a radio with a similar output level to the repeater you would be using and the antenna you would be using at it's installed height.

Output signal is output signal.  Doesn't matter if it's from a mobile, base or if low power a handheld.  It's all RF and will work the same no matter what.  So you could up up an antenna and do testing with a second person with a portable and /or a mobile to verify the expected coverage area.  Have them drive to the furthest area you are wanting to communicate with and have them do air tests with you from both a portable and a mobile. 

Once you do a first run test, look at the distance and draw a circle with the radius being the distance from the center to the edge.  Draw that circle on the map and then pick spots to test in that circle and continue to air test.

Once you have that info, draw a bigger circle and test that.  If it's all good increase the circle until it's not good.  You will have two different radius circles that with indicate portable coverage and mobile coverage.  That's how to test it without a bunch of other math, software and more technical stuff involved.  Green dots for good test points, red dots for bad test points.

Simple as that

8 hours ago, WRKC935 said: