GMRS repeater

25 minutes ago, BoxCar said:

What radio? It would help everyone if you told us the radio, model, and if you have the programming cable needed.

Sorry. So I  have a Boafeng GM 15-pro. As far as the cable, I don’t have it. I’m new to the GMRS radios. I have no experience. 

thanks

2 hours ago, alejandro30348 said:

Can someone help me programming my GMrS radio on a repeater. I’m having trouble. 

First, make sure you select a repeater channel. They already have the correct frequencies programmed in. 
Then set the transmit tone to whatever the repeater expects to receive. 
At first leave the receive tone out (or set it to TONE, rather than T-SQL. 

Then push the PTT button and identify yourself and ask if anyone can hear you. 
Welcome to the forum Alejandro. 

I have put a request in to use some repeaters in Southwest PA. 2 I have had approval. The third I have not and of course it is the one that I could use locally. I also have not had a denial. The repeater is WN2XFO. If this is a private repeater and the one being discussed, then I expect I may not get an answer on my request. Does anyone know if this is the repeater being discussed?

34 minutes ago, SONOGUY said:

Is it permissible to use the repeater with pending approval since it is an open repeater?

Open usually means "open to use", so it should be fine to use.  If it's not, the worst that will happen is the owner or someone that thinks they are in charge will ask/tell you to stop using it.

Welcome Alejandro.

I have the same radio and use this cable to program with a computer: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07V4D6F5F/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1.  The software is the one used for the Radioddity GM-30.  You can find it on this page: https://www.radioddity.com/pages/radioddity-download.

You can program manually off the screen, but I've found the computer to make life much easier.