Connecting to Repeater

PuddlePirate

Question

Completely confused Newbie here!

I recently purchased a MXT275 and Radioddity GM-30 and am trying to connect with the Diamond Point Repeater near Payson, AZ.  Info indicates the freq 462.575/467.575 (no tones indicated).

I hear strong tfc on CH16 (MXT) and RPT-2 (GM-30).  I also receive the repeater indentifier both voice and morse code on both radios. Should I be transmitting on CH 16rp (MXT) and RPT-2 (GM30) and would I (assumming someone hears me) be answered on the same channels as I'm transmitting on?

Thanks,

Tim

WSAC215

35 minutes ago, PuddlePirate said:

Does that mean I would transmit on CH 16rp, then have to listen on standard CH 16?

No the repeater channel is already set up to transmit on 467 and receive of 462. That is the +5 off set built into the repeater channels that are pre set up.  Either you’re not close enough to the repeater or your tones are not set up correctly.   Are you using software on the computer or face programming the radios.  You may need to ask permission and get the tones from the owner.   It’s rare for a repeater to not Atleast input tones.  

41 minutes ago, PuddlePirate said:

Does that mean I would transmit on CH 16rp, then have to listen on standard CH 16?

As mentioned, you transmit and receive with your radio set to a repeater channel. Make sure you are on a repeater channel and also that you have any tones set correctly.

20 hours ago, PuddlePirate said:

Completely confused Newbie here!

I recently purchased a MXT275 and Radioddity GM-30 and am trying to connect with the Diamond Point Repeater near Payson, AZ.  Info indicates the freq 462.575/467.575 (no tones indicated).

I hear strong tfc on CH16 (MXT) and RPT-2 (GM-30).  I also receive the repeater indentifier both voice and morse code on both radios. Should I be transmitting on CH 16rp (MXT) and RPT-2 (GM30) and would I (assumming someone hears me) be answered on the same channels as I'm transmitting on?

Thanks,