New to GMRS

I have been using my Midland MX275 for a few years mostly for Jeep trail communication.  I am now wanting to learn more about using repeaters and engaging in conversation 

1.  I have reached out and gained access to two repeaters, I have set tone. If I want to communicate do I set my channel to the correct repeater frequency channel and then announce my presence?  The reason I ask is that channel 17 I hear chatter and I here same conversation on 17rp. Sorry I don't have all the frequencies and channels associated yet.  I rely on charts

2. How do you get into conversations with other users?  I know I am to announce my call signal and say listening or monitoring.  I understand you can call for radio check, but beyond that, what is the gmrs protocol for conversations. 

I am sure I will have more questions as I dig into gmrs realm. 

Thanks

1: YES - you also have to add the correct "TX" or Transmit tone .. The RX/Receive tone is optional

2: GMRS is not primarily intended to "get into conversations with others" - but if you insist, just call out and ask if anybody wants to talk to you. There is no protocol other than talking normally and using your GMRS callsign at least once every 15 minutes.

12 minutes ago, dchemphill1 said:

what is the gmrs protocol for conversations

There isn't one. If you want to chat on a repeater, throw out your call sign and say you're listening or monitoring or ask for a signal report. Asking for a radio check is what you do when you want to buy a radio but you need money from your wife. Maybe someone is there, maybe not. But the age-old saying about GMRS that has been rehashed here many millions of times is that GMRS is a bring-your-own-contacts service. Like your cell phone. Amateur radio is the big one for making random contacts and meeting new people to talk to.

38 minutes ago, dchemphill1 said:

The reason I ask is that channel 17 I hear chatter and I here same conversation on 17rp