Retevis RT76P Glitch?

atnbirdie

Question

This may be unique to this device, but maybe someone else has had a similar experience on another unit?  I'm new to GMRS so maybe I'm missing something obvious.

Every reference I find from FCC and many other sites lists the frequency of FRS/GMRS Channel 8 as 467.5625.  However, my Retevis RT76P (and its manual) list the channel 8 frequency as 467.5675.  When I use another radio (Midland T71VP3) set to Channel 8, and set the Retevis to Channel 8, I get static when I press the PTT button on the Midland which stops only after I talk for 1-3 seconds.  The Retevis communicates back to the Midland OK.

If I switch the RT76P to frequency mode and key in the Channel 8 frequency of 467.5625, it receives transmissions from the Midland set to Channel 8 perfectly with no static.  However, then Midland gets nothing from the Retevis on that frequency.

All other Channels work fine both ways as they all match the known GMRS frequencies.  Also note that I have all privacy codes turned off on both units and channel 8 is set up as simplex.  I tried a second T71VP3 with the same results.

Any ideas on what's going on?  How is the Midland receiving anything on Channel 8 from the Retevis when the frequencies don't match?  

Steve

WRMP836

12 answers to this question

The RT76P has some seriously dodgy firmware issues.  This one's new to me, normally it's getting config files to stick when programmed from the radio's control pad.  I highly recommend trying a firmware update and seeing if it resolves that.  I'll let you know if it works for me… once I figure out how to update the firmware!

Seriously, I'm considering giving up on my 76P and ordering the RB27 at this point.  If you have any insights, please share.

5 hours ago, Ian said:

I'll let you know if it works for me… once I figure out how to update the firmware!

Seriously, I'm considering giving up on my 76P and ordering the RB27 at this point.  If you have any insights, please share.