wanting to get into GMRS and HAM radio need some help

Guest leo k

Guest leo k

I am a disabled vet and I'm interested in GMRS and HAM radio. I recently got my gmrs license and I am working on getting my HAM

I was given a UV-5X baofeng radio  recently and I just want to see what it's all about. 25 yrs ago I had a friend that was into ham radio which got me started in it but due to life was not able to follow through

so now that I've got more time I want to try again

I am in ne ohio

The nice thing about both GMRS and HAM is you can put as much effort into it as you want and enjoy radio. I got a HAM license years and years ago and upgraded to General. I recently got into GMRS because my family can get involved and don't have to take the test. There is not much traffic on GMRS where I live. I still listen to 2m and 70cm via local repeaters. I also still listen to SW. Enjoy whatever part of the radio world you choose to use. These days there are a lot of good resources on the web.

Sean

Oh, since you indicated you’re in NE Ohio you might want to try and go to a large regional Ham Radio flea market next month. If you’re looking for new or used equipment you will likely find something there.

I typically travel there with some friends up in the Detroit area to the swap. There is a large outdoor market area, and an indoor area where most of the commercial vendors are located. 

https://www.findlayradioclub.org/hamfest

seconding @Lscott that it's never too late.  the fact of the license covering family is a great aspect of gmrs, making it easier to share the interest with the younger generations, giving that "connection" (both literal and figurative), and perhaps planting the seed of their future involvement in the radio hobby.  likewise, a ton of directions you can go under the general heading of 'ham', be it morse, data, experimentation, or just the basic 2m/70cm voice modes.

there's a ton of knowledge and help to be had here (for both services).