Handheld vs Car mount

Guest Patrick

Guest Patrick

Newbie here.  Looking to get a radio and not sure how to proceed.  I travel though many states and want to be able to have emergency communication while traveling and at home. Any thought, HT vs a higher wattage, car mounted unit?   From what I understand, I can program different channels and the repeaters ahead of time and switch as needed?   Is there a chain that can be strung that you don’t have to switch along the way and still have wide range communication?  Any advice would be appreciated. 

In the current state of affairs you are more likely to be able to contact another traveler or station using CB rather than GMRS or FRS. A hand held radio, with the supplied antenna inside the car isn't going to reach very far, probably a half mile for certain and a few miles at best. Pair it with an external antenna and you can have an average contact area of 2 to 3 miles. Moving to a mobile unit, you will have the 2 - 3 mile minimum range with a max of 10 - 12 miles with some exceptions. Your best coverage area for travel on the major routes will be cellular. If you are set on using radio, an amateur technician license with a 2 meter HH will give you the most coverage area.

I myself tend to start with handheld radios at first, because they are portable, and easy to have with you while traveling. Coupled with information from a site like this one, you program the handheld radio with local repeaters, chat with locals, and learn more in time. The issue with handhelds is that they are lower power, often have lower capabilities from mobiles, and for GMRS, may lack a removable antenna. However, if that travel is in a car, as BoxCar mentioned, you will lose a lot of signal in and out (transmit and receive) with a handheld in a metal car.