Baofeng UV-9G was a bust...try again, or something else?

WRPV846

I received my UV-9G over the weekend, and excitedly broke it out and put it together. Well, right off the bat, I notice something wrong. The antenna did not sit "true". It was slightly canted. I couldn't say for certain if it was fully seated. I checked my local NOAA, and it would not receive, even with squelch turned off.

I did some image research, and I'm fairly certain that the antenna was not what it was supposed to come with. It had a different base, and well as a thin orange ring around it near the base. I didn't see a single instance of that.

So, do I look at ordering another one, or look foe something else? Now, I did just today get a Radioddity GM-30. The original idea was that I'd have the more rugged radio, and my wife the less often used radio. I liked the idea of the UV-9G, but certainly not my first experience with it.

Since I'm new to all of this, I am wanting to keep the price low. Thanks.

Hello an welcome to this site. I have the same UV9G an the same antenna. The little red stripe. Mine fit very snug but all seems well. I get the NOAA channel, number one from the start. Also the FM comes in well. I do hear ,from a distance, some weak chatter. I now realize I live in a very quiet area GMRS wise.  So I ordered a new antenna.  It’s a Nagoya 771G an was told it won’t fit. Came yesterday an it fits. Going out an see what I can hear or not. 
I agree with you the GM-30/was my second choice. I just wanted a cheap, waterproof radio an this seems to fit the bill. Not the radios fault that I live in a dead zone. 
bob -WRPL668

It went on kinda sideways but then straightened out to sit properly. When I put on the replacement antenna the 771G it went on straight. Tight but correctly. I’ve always been able to here the NOVAA channel from the start an the FM channel. My problem is the almost complete lack of GMRS users in my area. That’s why the replacement antenna.