Spars GMRS license - Can my GF use that license which is not being used?

Guest Glen Collins

Guest Glen Collins

Hello everyone! I have an interesting question about GMRS licensing. And perusing the FCC site is very painful whcih is why I'm here! I was wondering if I had an unused GMRS license/Call sign, can my GF just use that license with he call sign even though it's got my name on it? Or must I transfer into her name. And if I have to do that, could I just do that on my own FRN or must she have her own FRN.

Thanks!

Glen

First the easy one. In order for a license to be in her name she will need to have her own FRN.

Regarding  your GF using your license... I'm no expert, but the FCC has defined "family" in their licensing rules and I don't recall seeing GF, BF, BFF, or significant other among those included.  

4 hours ago, Guest Glen Collins said:

Hello everyone! I have an interesting question about GMRS licensing. And perusing the FCC site is very painful whcih is why I'm here! I was wondering if I had an unused GMRS license/Call sign, can my GF just use that license with he call sign even though it's got my name on it? Or must I transfer into her name. And if I have to do that, could I just do that on my own FRN or must she have her own FRN.

Thanks!

Glen

She’s not in your family, so technically she can’t use it. If you marry or adopt her she could. ?

I doubt that there’s a way to transfer the license to her anyway. If there were it would probably cost the same $35 as just paying for a new license. 

Unfortunately, she will have to apply for her own license. There are two legalese passages— IANAL —that prevent your girlfriend from using your unused license.

On 6/17/2022 at 6:07 PM, Guest Glen Collins said:

And perusing the FCC site is very painful whcih is why I'm here!