Newbie question about GMRS repeater access requests

WRVE426

Hi

I am totally new to GMRS (and radios in general) and I just making my first steps.

I used the myGMRS app to make a number of requests to access GMRS repeaters.

Only one replied, they other have been 'pending' for quite a while (see attached screenshot)

Is this normal?  Or am I doing something wrong?

As always, thanks for any pointers!

Screenshot from 2022-11-26 17-39-48.png

It's normal.

My attitude is that if a repeaters radio waves cross over to your radio, such that you can decode its tones and use the repeater, you have the right to use the repeater until such time as a "proper" authority tells you otherwise.

Obviously being courteous in attempting to obtain permission first is always good practice.

1 hour ago, MichaelLAX said:

My attitude is that if a repeaters radio waves cross over to your radio, such that you can decode its tones and use the repeater, you have the right to use the repeater until such time as a "proper" authority tells you otherwise.

So, taking your comment further about using someone else's property, you think you have the right to use anything you wish until a "proper authority" tells you otherwise. Your attitude regarding this is disturbing to me and probably many others as well. Just because a repeater is up and you find the codes needed to use it doesn't give you the right to use it. That attitude could be seen as theft of services as you do not have a right to access the system. With only a few channels set aside for repeaters and published codes that could be set, unlocking any repeater is possible. You could also scan the airwaves around you and unlock WiFi systems and use their Internet connection or the codes necessary to access someone's home systems. Your attitude about what is yours and your rights regarding electronic communications needs some serious reconsideration.

2 hours ago, BoxCar said: