GMRS Travel Channel (rant 1 or 3) Defined and how other radio services handle it

kirk5056

What is a radio “Travel Channel” and how do other radio services use the concept?  These are my thoughts.  I am not an expert, I am not a ham (sad or otherwise) but I might be “some people”.  Some of you will disagree with my thoughts, some will point out that I am wrong on some issues (I invite that, my goal is to raise the knowledge base of GMRS operators not pretend to know it all).  I may leave out important things, I don’t do it on purpose.  When I refer to GMRS I also mean FRS unless I say otherwise since they both share the same frequencies.

In my un-scientific review of the GMRS forums (that I know of) the three main recurring topics are:

1)      I bought my new GMRS radio and now no one will talk to me or I don’t hear anyone talking.

2)      I turn off my PL filters to scan GMRS so that I can hear EVERYTHING on those channels and now I am hearing too much (kids, highway flaggers or businesses) so I want them to stop using the channels.

3)      Is there a GMRS Travel Channel (or road channel or calling/hailing channel)?

I think GMRS was designed to solve particular communication issues among small groups of people that already know each other.  But, I think finding an answer to Topic 3, a well thought out, commonly recognized national Travel Channel, could act like a magnet: drawing in people that WANT to be heard by strangers and repelling those that do not.  

But first I need to give my definition of some terms (that some will disagree with).

TRAVEL CHANNEL  I see a travel channel is comprised of three components. 

CALLING/HAILING The first is the most obvious and that is the channel used to call, hail, make initial contact with strangers.  This could be to call that Jeep that just crossed the trail or contact a local for information.  This includes those that hope a stranger will call, so they listen on this channel.