Wide Vs Narrow Channel Spacing

WRUQ758

Question

Channel spacing for the GMRS repeater & simplex channels is 25 Khz and 12.5 for FRS channels. I hear a lot of users with low audio and in many cases this may be from someone using a narrowband radio on an GMRS appropriate wideband repeater. I am a radio tech but will not get into a technical rant about the differences. Basically 25 Khz spacing gives you WAY better audio and range due to the bandwith. Radios like the Midland MXT-400 come with the correct spacing out of the box. In a nutshell if you buy commercial Kenwood, Motorola Etc repeaters, mobiles and portables make sure they are older "wideband" capable radios for GMRS use. Whoever programs your radios can tell in the software. This is great news for GMRS users because there is a glut of cheap wideband capable UHF radios out there cheap that cannot be used on narrowband spacing on regular business band. If the commercial radio or repeater you buy is 12.5 narrowband capable make SURE whoever programs it has the permission "key" to set it to 25 Khz. Do not use 12.5 KHz spacing on GMRS, enjoy the better audio and range benefits of our wideband "exception" under FCC Part 95.

My personal FAVORITES are Motorola Maxtrac, Radius M100, GM300, Ht-600, P-200, & Saber. These were some of the best radios ever built but require special software and an obsolete DOS computer and RIB to program. 

Here is a list: Motorola Narrowband Capable Radios (comsourcewireless.com)

16 answers to this question

2 hours ago, WRUQ758 said: