Baofeng UV-9G Issues

WRZD872

Question

Good day to all! Sorry if this question was asked previously but, what I have I feel is specific as I have not found a thread or question with this info. I am new to GMRS and received my Baofeng UV-9G yesterday (10-29-23). Upon opening, I found that I could not transmit on channel 15. I'd seen this as a specific problem before and the fix is to download the latest firmware. Also, I cannot receive any of the NOAA channels that are pre-programmed. I downloaded the updated firmware from the Baofeng site that is specific to this radio. Still, both problems exist. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

11 answers to this question

16 hours ago, WRZD872 said:

Good day to all! Sorry if this question was asked previously but, what I have I feel is specific as I have not found a thread or question with this info. I am new to GMRS and received my Baofeng UV-9G yesterday (10-29-23). Upon opening, I found that I could not transmit on channel 15. I'd seen this as a specific problem before and the fix is to download the latest firmware. Also, I cannot receive any of the NOAA channels that are pre-programmed. I downloaded the updated firmware from the Baofeng site that is specific to this radio. Still, both problems exist. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

If you bought it from Radioddity, they are pretty good at helping with problems.

I had the same issue with my UV-9G purchased through Amazon, Radioddity was the seller. Sent the first one back through the Amazon return process and got a second one, it also had the same issue. At that point I contacted Radioddity through the Amazon app and asked about a fix for the problem. Radioddity quickly offered another replacement from their warehouse so they could check it before shipping. This radio unfortunately shipped from China so it took about 2 weeks to get it but works on all channels.  

On 10/30/2023 at 12:51 PM, OffRoaderX said:

This is apparently a new feature on a few models.