Repeater Question

Emsflyer84

Hey all, I’m new to GMRS but been in the Ham game for a bit. Recently some of my buddies took an interest in GMRS and are getting licensed. I’m thinking of putting up a repeater at my house since I already have an antenna mount and coax cable up on my roof, where my current Ham antenna is. I’m looking for the most simple way to set up a simple repeater using one additional antenna on my roof. At the same time I can’t justify spending thousands just so my friends and I can chat. Looking at a few options. First is the Midland repeater-in-a-box:

https://midlandusa.com/products/midland-mxr10-repeater

Second is this gadget which I came across by accident, can’t find much info on it:

https://kleinelectronics.com/flex-professional-repeater/

Third is this unit consisting of a couple Mororola radios. But I’m not sure if it has a duplexer or if I’d need two antennas. 

https://www.ebay.com/itm/285485485142?mkcid=16&mkevt=1&mkrid=711-127632-2357-0&ssspo=ZIH74GuxSLC&sssrc=4429486&ssuid=GJxbJs7qTe-&var=&widget_ver=artemis&media=COPY

Any advice here or other suggestions would be idea. Simple and compact is what I’m going for here. The more “plug and play” the better. Thanks! 

Those Midland/Retevis repeaters have a very small internal duplexer that can barely create any decent isolation when the repeater is cranking more than 5 watts.

There is no magic bullet. You are never going to find a good, cheap, compact duplexer that passes 95% of your transmitter power and still gives you 90+ dB of isolation. It doesn't exist.

Every rookie with a wattmeter wants to get the MAXIMUM possible output power out of their repeater. I mean, 50 has to be better than 5, right?  In my opinion, the MOST important spec in a repeater system is the isolation between transmit and receive. Especially if you're using portable radios out in the field that can talk back in with 4 or 5 watts of transmit power.