Newbie - High SWR on KB9VBR Slim Jim

dpslusser

Question

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to GMRS and need a bit of guidance on where to start troubleshooting my first base station setup out at my farm in the country (outside of town). I own 100 acres with a 30 acre field. No utility power at the garage currently (it's a work in progress). No other buildings around. Garage is on top of the hill in the property with 360degree view of the property. Perfect spot for a base station radio or future repeater. 

Current hardware deployed for Base Station:

• KB9VBR Slim Jim Jpole Antenna (**Edited to show range 462-467Mhz GMRS)
  • 30ft Push-up Mast
  • 50ft of LMR400 (had this laying around)
  • BTech 50V2 Radio

Right now, everything is temporarily installed. Slim Jim clamped to PVC Pipe which is clamped to Push-up Mast. Mast is temporarily supported next to my garage. Coax strapped down to the pole which is connected to the Btech sitting on a table inside the garage door. I use a car battery to power the Btech radio. Coax literally is a straight run to the radio. No choke loops, surge suppressors, ground straps, etc..

I only setup the above for a few hours this afternoon to do some testing.

No matter what channel I Tx on, my SWR is typically 2.75-2.95. But, when running the Btech in my truck with a Midland MXTA26 mag mount antenna, the SWR is a 1.17 typically. Why such a big difference? I would of expected an even lower SWR completed isolated from the truck, and with the antenna 30ft away from the radio.

Should I be concerned about the high SWR?

17 answers to this question

7 minutes ago, dpslusser said:

Hi Everyone,