Yagi Antenna, Cable And Gain

WRMG216

I am new to GMRS and trying to get back into the ham hobby. I was involved with CB overseas for many years but when I came back to the U.S. everything has changed including my memory. ?  I am living in an association and or course antennas are not permitted. (Let's leave it at that). I am up in Farmington MN and there is a repeater about 2 miles as the crow flies in an open direction on the side of my house that my deck is on. I currently have a Wouxun KG-805G that won't reach the repeater from my basement window even though its a straight shot to the repeater. I just ordered a Midland MXT-400 for my truck but would like to base-station it until I can get my hands on a KG-1000G. I want to try and put up an antenna, on my deck, that is so low to the rail that it is very hard to see so that the association won't complain. I was thinking of a small yagi antenna to point at the repeater and would like to hear your opinions please. I chose the yagi for the gain and small size. Also, If I had to run 50 foot of cable what would be your recommendation for cable. Many thanks! WRMG216.

As height is king, have you thought of an attic install? A yagi would probably work, but if it's on your patio (and I'm assuming you have a house) you could also do a roof mount with an antenna inside a piece of PVC pipe secured to a vent pipe. You might also get by with a deck mounted vertical inside PVC again near te side of the house with the pipe matching your siding color.