NEW Midland MXT275 Wideband?

WROZ437

I searched a new owners manual and the only reference to the word "band" was when discussing the weather bands.  I didn't see any reference to switching from narrow to wide band.  Not to say the radio could just come in wideband but I believe the MXT500 is switchable.

I'm just a newbie trying to find my way thru the GMRS life...  If I am wrong I do take education easily. ?

2 hours ago, WROZ437 said:

So I have a brand spanking new MXT275. It has the USB-C port on the radio so it is the latest version. Is this radio wideband or at least capable of being programmed via software? 

I would have sworn there was something on midland's site previously mentioning it.

That said, their authorization for the 275 DOES allow for it: https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/tcb/reports/Tcb731GrantForm.cfm?mode=COPY&RequestTimeout=500&tcb_code=&application_id=o9gcpY0BMlKQKr%2FMaUSLGQ%3D%3D&fcc_id=MMAMXT275

8 hours ago, wayoverthere said:

I would have sworn there was something on midland's site previously mentioning it.

That said, their authorization for the 275 DOES allow for it: https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/tcb/reports/Tcb731GrantForm.cfm?mode=COPY&RequestTimeout=500&tcb_code=&application_id=o9gcpY0BMlKQKr%2FMaUSLGQ%3D%3D&fcc_id=MMAMXT275

I could swear I saw something about it, too. I was hoping one of the gurus on here had a quick answer. I will try and get in touch with their customer service and see what they have to say...

Well at least Midland's Customer Service is quick and responsive. The only radios that accept any programming are the "premium" MXT400 and 500 units. Doesn't look like the 575 will be programmable, either, but at least that will have wideband baked in.

From Midland Customer Support: