SWR High on DB25-G

WRMD235

Hello experts!

I am new to GMRS and having some issues with tuning my SWR on the Radioddity DB25-G radio and Rugged Radios UHF Stealth antenna on a 1997 Jeep Wrangler.  I have the antenna mounted on the cowl by the driver door using the Rugged Radio mount.  I ran the coax into the windshield channel, drilled into the frame to route the coax up by the rear view mirror.  Currently getting a SWR of 5.8 using a new Surecom SW-33 VSWR meter.  Tested ground on antenna mount to battery negative and saw .5 ohms.  Also tested from ground connection on PL-259 at the radio and got the same reading.  I do not have another antenna to swap out at the moment.

Also as a reference point, I also have a Radioddity GM-30 HT.  I put the SW-33 between the radio and the factory antenna to get a baseline.  SWR was 3.6 for this configuration.  Using GMRS channel 16 for all tests.  

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

IMG_1436.jpg

IMG_1437.jpg

So.. I was unfamiliar with the antenna and thought maybe I wasn't seeing what I was seeing..  That is why I asked. But, I googled the antenna to see what it looks like in the catalog .. Yes. I am thinking that chief suspect for the high SWR is most likely the interaction of the car body with the antenna.  Thanks for the pics!  

Ken WQXQ522

So,  I just had another look at the manufacturers web site and wow! They have a photo of the exact mounting arrangement that you used with the antenna hugging the side of the vehicle...  That makes no sense to me but who knows the product like the manufacturer?  Still I would reach out to them and ask about why the SWR.  787314244_StealthTunedLowProfileAntennaforGMRSandUHFRuggedRadios-GoogleChrome8_2_20226_56_40PM.png.thumb.jpg.21cde7c2138c585f4398251365e63b9a.jpg