Base Station Versus Handheld with Aplifier

pwindsor

Question

Please note I am a total newbie at this

So I was looking at the Wouxun KG-1000G GMRS base station versus the Wouxun KG-935G Plus with an amplifier, is there any upside to using the base station versus a handheld with the amplifier? I cannot seem to find any good articles on pro's and con's. The amplifier has a 40watt output and the base station has a 50 watt output, but from what I have read the 10 watt difference does not make a whole lot of difference. 

Thanks in advance for your assistance

22 answers to this question

26 minutes ago, OffRoaderX said:

Upside to using the 935G is you can slap the rubber ducky back on it and quickly/easily take it and use it anywhere you want.

Randy, I am a huge fan!

If I might make a suggestion, could you maybe do a video where you discuss the pro's and con's of a base station versus a handheld with a amplifier? You were the fist site I searched, but I did not see anything on that topic.

I do like the KG-935G plus, that said you do receive more bands on the KG-1000G and 1000 Plus. It is also super het if that matters to you. A closer comparison would be the KG-UV9PX or KG-UV9G Pro if you want the more RX bands and super het. Just something to consider apples to apples so to speak. Which of course may or not matter to you.

KG-UV9G Pro (KG-UV9PX) =

Tx (MHz): 30 GMRS Frequencies 462.550-467.725 UHF (Tx locked to GMRS for Part 95E compliance)
Rx (MHz, AM/FM): 76-108 FM Broadcast Radio • 108-136 AM AIR Band • 136-180 VHF • 230-250 VHF • 350-400 UHF • 400-512 UHF • 700-960 UHF

KG-1000 GMRS (kG-1000 GMRS Plus) =

Tx (MHz): 30 GMRS Frequencies 462.550-467.725 UHF (Tx locked to GMRS for Part 95E compliance)
Rx (MHz, AM/FM): 76-108 FM Broadcast Radio • 108-136 AM AIR Band • 136-180 VHF • 230-250 VHF • 350-400 UHF • 400-512 UHF • 700-960 UHF

KG-935G Plus =

30 GMRS Channels

136-174.995 MHz Receive Only VHF Frequencies