How to find other GMRS friends in my area

WRYE806

I’m new to gmrs and have been scanning the channels all day everyday since Friday and haven’t heard anyone. I guess there aren’t any gmrs  people in Fayette county Tennessee. I’m also too far out to hit the repeaters in Memphis. I guess I’ll just have to save my radios and license for road trips. But anyway, I’ll keep scanning and listening. I’ll also keep reading the forums. If anyone is in my area, give me a shout.WRYE806 

Welcome to the forum, but, if you are using GMRS to find new friends you have chosen the wrong hobby. GMRS is more for communicating with existing friends while driving, hiking, etc.  For finding new friends/talking to strangers, ham radio or the Grindr app might be a better choice.

3 minutes ago, WRYE806 said:

I’m new to gmrs and have been scanning the channels all day everyday since Friday and haven’t heard anyone. I guess there aren’t any gmrs  people in Fayette county Tennessee. I’m also too far out to hit the repeaters in Memphis. I guess I’ll just have to save my radios and license for road trips. But anyway, I’ll keep scanning and listening. I’ll also keep reading the forums. If anyone is in my area, give me a shout.WRYE806 

Same here in Summerville, SC.  I listen mostly as there id no one around here either so, I just the scan feature.

BUT HEY, GMRS isn't like CB's.  Although I get to use mine when we're off roading in the Jeeps...

7 minutes ago, OffRoaderX said:

Welcome to the forum, but, if you are using GMRS to find new friends you have chosen the wrong hobby. GMRS is more for communicating with existing friends while driving, hiking, etc.  For finding new friends/talking to strangers, ham radio or the Grindr app might be a better choice.