Still a newbie. What does "3 by 5" mean?

Probably an easy question...

I was chatting on the local repeater, which I have trouble hitting in the evening hours (cloud cover, TV or LED interference, more "calorically challenged" people at home in the evenings, who knows), and I asked how well my signal was coming in. The response I got was "you're coming in at about a 3 by 5 or 4 by 5, I can hear you pretty well."

I'm just assuming that "3 by 5" and "4 by 5" means my transmission strength was around 35% to 45% on their end. Is my understanding of that lingo correct? I'm still learning the GMRS vernacular. 

36 minutes ago, WSBV579 said:

Probably an easy question...

I was chatting on the local repeater, which I have trouble hitting in the evening hours (cloud cover, TV or LED interference, more "calorically challenged" people at home in the evenings, who knows), and I asked how well my signal was coming in. The response I got was "you're coming in at about a 3 by 5 or 4 by 5, I can hear you pretty well."

I'm just assuming that "3 by 5" and "4 by 5" means my transmission strength was around 35% to 45% on their end. Is my understanding of that lingo correct? I'm still learning the GMRS vernacular. 

A signal strength and readability report is a standardized format for reporting the strength of the radio signal and the readability (quality) of the radiotelephone (voice) or radiotelegraph (Morse code) signal transmitted by another station as received at the reporting station's location and by their radio station equipment. These report formats are usually designed for only one communications mode or the other, although a few are used for both telegraph and voice communications. All but one of these signal report formats involve the transmission of numbers.

ITU-R Radiotelegraph Signal Reporting Formats
Signal Question Answer, Advice, or Order
QSA What is the strength of my signals (or those of...)? The strength of your signals (or those of...) is...