question about repeaters

oldjeep30

hello i am new to any type radio just retired and needed a hobby. I got a midland mxt400 and a 6 db antenna for a base station.  confused on range to open repeater.  I got permission to use a repeater about 15 miles away but can open a repeater 100 miles to my south and one 168 miles to my north.  I live in central florida.  Wanting to know if this is normal.

I am new to radio and I did not think it was possible either that is what I am asking. But I can not understand why two different people would that I connected to these repeaters when I did not.    both repeaters have same frequency and codes and both on  towers that county use for their radios.

Given your near clermont which is the highest elevation in FL, and its likely you could have skip, so not 100% shocked about that range, though I wouldn't always expect it. I have a friend in Clermont who has trouble reaching some repeaters that are near by while hitting further repeaters in Disney and Osceola County OEM and even one out in palm bay (these are DEARS and HAM repeaters and not GMRS, but use 70CM band still)

Actually, it is 'possible' under certain conditions of Tropospheric ducting, which has been strongly affecting large parts of Florida recently.

I myself overheard a conversation over a repeater near Orlando earlier this week, while I am in Punta Gorda... well over 100 miles.

I have also had several contact with an 'Amateur operator' in West Palm who especially enjoys making contacts during ducting event, that's nearly 150 miles away from me.

I have heard of skip in cb radios did not know about gmrs.