University using GMRS without license...

WRKV917

I'm very new to GMRS so if I'm not seeing something please let me know...

I recently put up a repeater and, while monitoring the frequency, keep hearing business type radio traffic. I jump on my non repeater, non PL tone, GMRS radio and, with proper call sign, do a radio test to get a response to figure out who is using GMRS for business use. I'm to far away for a hand held but now know its traffic from either building maintenance or the student security used through campus at a university near by. I still need to confirm this the next time I'm closer to campus but if thats the case, my understanding is GMRS is not intended for business purposes espashally if they are not identifying with a call sign. Being a federal funded public university I'm surprised they are using GMRS and potentially in violation. 

I don't feel policing this is on my shoulders but I do feel if a violation is happening I do have the obligation to report. 

Am I correct in any of the above? Thsbk you in advance, your guidance is much appreciated...

Yup, happens everywhere - virtually every channel in my area..

They could be using FRS radios instead of GMRS radios, but, it doesn't really matter.. and you are correct - policing isn't really on your shoulders unless it is creating a safety hazard or intererferring with your business, etc.. you COULD report it.. but, it wont do any good as the FCC has larger issues to deal with.

3 minutes ago, kc9pke said:

Personally (and I emphasize that) I’d call their IT director and tell them to man up and apply for a Part 90 license but that’s just me

I know... A major university with way deeper pockets then most. They could justify and spend $50,000 on a system of their own and no one would bat an eye..

2 minutes ago, WRKV917 said:

I know... A major university with way deeper pockets then most. They could justify and spend $50,000 on a system of their own and no one would bat an eye..