Midland MXT400 programming

Sierra71

Question

9 answers to this question

Contacting Midland Service/Tech Support is how some folks on this site have gotten their hands on software. I think you may need to purchase a special cable as well. If you search this site well you may find a link to the software that one of these folks may have shared.

The programming flexibility of Midland radios I believe you will find to be very limited compared to the competition.

Michael
WRHS965
KE8PLM

Just a newbie here.  Had my MXT400 for two years now or close to it and while having read about the programming phase, I haven't done that for any of the frequencies I use on a limited bases.  My radio is hard mounted in the Jeep and it isn't a daily driver like the work van.

In my location in SC we don't get a lot of activity on the GMRS side of the world at least when I am driving.  It does get used simplex talking to friends during travel to and from wheeling spots when traveling in groups on the hwy and off road.  That counts as little use overall in my book. Of course, your mileage may vary.

I do turn it on even running around the town on short trips with little interaction with others and repeaters.  I carry a book with all the repeater info just in case I am nearby them as well.  Little two way conversation happens there as well.

Most always have it set to SCAN.  I don't see the need to program it for even the yearly events I attend as the channel slections will vary there too.

Good luck with that if it is going to be a base station and get lots of use,  I could see the necessity.

15 hours ago, Sierra71 said:

Got a MXT400 for Christmas how do I program it via computer?

Review this earlier myGMRS forum post for software and cable information.  

I have no experience with Midland, so I cannot verify the information contained in this linked earlier post.

8 hours ago, MichaelLAX said:

Review this earlier myGMRS forum post for software and cable information.