CB vs. GMRS/FRS

Mainspring

I am brand new to this and just got my GMRS license this week. I have not used a CB radio since the 70s, but considering the range of CB vs FRS, or better, GMRS, what is the advantage of the latter over the former?

Second question, are there radios that combine CB with FRS/GMRS capabilities or are the two just so separate animals that they are never combined into one unit?

As a side note, one reason I ask about CBs is that I just drug out two Cobra 19 Plus radios from 1986. They appear to be in excellent shape but transmission/reception is yet to be proven. I'll try and test them tomorrow.

Thanks for your discussion.

Danny

GMRS is short range, line-of-sight communications but has a higher power output than CB. GMRS is also FM where CB is AM so the messages are much clearer. GMRS is able to use repeaters that improve the range and can be connected to form networks. Because the frequencies for CB are around 27 MHz and GMRS is in the 460 MHz area the two can't be combined into a single unit.

3 hours ago, MichaelLAX said:

Oh dear: someone forgot to tell that to Yaesu! ?

Yes Michael, there are units that do cover those frequencies but Mr. KIA, the OP was asking as a person not licensed to operate that type of unit and specifically for a unit to cover just the GMRS and CB bands which there isn't a unit. So, quit being an idiot and address the question being asked in the frame it was asked. And further, the Yaesu doesn't operate on the GMRS or CB frequencies without illegal modification so the answer is STILL there isn't a unit that combines those particular frequencies.

9 hours ago, BoxCar said: