TD-H8 GMRS Handheld Receiving GMRS Repeater signals but not transmitting to GMRS repeater.

WRYQ699

Question

I have a TidRadio TD-H8 Handheld GMRS radio and recently found my local GMRS Repeaters. My problem is that I can hear people talking on the repeaters but cannot transmit where they respond. I have the TX CTCSS or DCS and the RX CTCSS or DCS set and I am transmitting at 5 watts so I am not sure what it is. When I try to beep in, I don't hear a response from the repeater either.  I also have the right Frequency and yes, the radio is on. I am new to GMRS, so I wonder if I am missing something or doing something wrong. Thank you in advance.

18 answers to this question

7 minutes ago, WRYQ699 said:

I have a TidRadio TD-H8 Handheld GMRS radio and recently found my local GMRS Repeaters. My problem is that I can hear people talking on the repeaters but cannot transmit where they respond. I have the TX CTCSS or DCS and the RX CTCSS or DCS set and I am transmitting at 5 watts so I am not sure what it is. When I try to beep in, I don't hear a response from the repeater either.  I also have the right Frequency and yes, the radio is on. I am new to GMRS, so I wonder if I am missing something or doing something wrong. Thank you in advance.

Are you transmitting on the repeater frequencies?  They’re 5 MHz (467 MHz range) above the 462 MHz frequency that you receive from the repeater. 

1 hour ago, Sshannon said:

Are you transmitting on the repeater frequencies?  They’re 5 MHz (467 MHz range) above the 462 MHz frequency that you receive from the repeater. 

Hi there,

I was not transmitting 5MHz above the 462 MHz frequency, By doing this, I was able to transmit to two of the 6 repeaters in my area. The two that I was able to transmit both have a DCS tone and the rest that I am still having issues with are all CTCSS. Could this be a coincidence? When I try to beep in to the repeaters with CTCSS, I don't receive anything back. Thank you! 

1 hour ago, OffRoaderX said: